Book Reviews

 
 
 

RESOURCES

 

 

Web Templates for FrontPage 2003, Expression Web, and Dreamweaver 

 


 
 

 

 

 

News

 
RESOURCES

 

 

 

 

 

Web Templates for FrontPage 2003, Expression Web, and Dreamweaver 

 

REVIEWS:


Post Office Jobs - 5th edition Tribune Review (06/07/2009)

Joyce Lain Kennedy's syndicated article titled "Due Diligence Avoids Job Scams" featuring Post Office Jobs and our website www.postalwork.net was published in Tribune Media newspapers nationwide and on major web sites including the following site today:   http://townhall.com/Common/PrintPage.aspx?g=675f8670-121e-4647-b1d3-87c474dd986b&t=c

The Book of U.S. Government Jobs - 10th edition Wall Street Journal Feature

The Wall Street Journal article titled "Land A Federal Job" by writer Jonnelle Marte was published Sunday June 7, 2009. Author Dennis Damp and The Book of U.S. Government Jobs - 10th edition is featured in the article on wsj.com and in the WSJ paper.   http://online.wsj.com/article/SB124433814488491757.html

Post Office Jobs - 5th edition Most Frequently Requested Book - Library Journal review (06/01/2009)

Library Journal rates our new 5th edition as one of the most frequently requested titles. Look at the full article for the list and the title is half way down the list under "Post Office Jobs".

Crib Notes for Test Prep
By J. Sara Paulk -- Library Journal, 6/1/2009

Full article online at Library Journal -  http://www.libraryjournal.com/article/CA6660899.html

The Book of U.S. Government Jobs - Review by Kathryn Troutman (06/01/2009)

FEDERAL EMPLOYMENT EXPERT: Dennis Damp has written 26 books on federal employment and he understands federal employment from his own career of moving up over 35 years with Department of Defense agencies and the Federal Aviation Administration.

NEED EXTRA INSPIRATION? If you are trying to be inspired to cope with the federal hiring process, refer to the introduction of the book - I am SOLD that government jobs are the best. His Intro to Government Employment is understandable and could be called "Uncle Sam 101".

EMPLOYMENT SECRETS FROM A FORMER FED MANAGER? I especially like Chapter 12, Employment Secrets, including his Keys to Success. For instance, “Don’t give up when you receive your first rejection”. This sounds simple, but rejection is really hard.  I agree that determination is critical for landing a federal job.

MANY APPLICATIONS ARE AN "ABSOLUTE DISGRACE". Dennis talks about his own experience being on a hiring panel in government, his first impressions by a rating official (page 51). "I can't tell you how many thousands of applications that I reviewed during my career that were an absolute disgrace. Then he refers you to Chapter 6, where I contributed a couple of great federal resume samples from The Federal Resume Guidebook. (sorry, shameless reference to my book). And his "One Size Doesn't Fit All"  paragraph on page 51 - PLEASE read this one!

SPECIAL HIRING PROGRAMS: Dennis offers easy to understand interpretations of special hiring programs for people with Disabilities (and lists of contacts), Veterans (explanation of preference points) and Military Dependents.
IMPROVE YOUR CHANCES: And if you want to know Where the Jobs Are Available, Chapter 3 is insightful, including numerous resources and techniques to “improve your chances”.

MUST READ: So, in summary, if you are determined to land a federal job, this book is a MUST READ to get the Basics of Federal Employment. This detailed, federal employment resource can help your campaign to land one of the best jobs available in America today!

Kathryn Troutman, Author, Federal Resume Guidebook
and Ten Steps to a Federal Job.

The Book of U.S. Government Jobs - 10th edition Listed on Library Journal's  "Best Seller's" List (04/01/2009)

The books most borrowed by in U.S. Libraries - 4/1/2009
http://www.libraryjournal.com/article/CA6645867.html?industryid=47123
The Book of U.S. Government Jobs is on Library Journal's Bestsellers top 20 list, the books most borrowed in U.S. Libraries. This title is mentioned with "What Color is Your Parachute" and we are honored to be on this prestigious list.

Post Office Jobs - 5th edition Library Journal review (05/15/2009)

Damp, Dennis V. Post Office Jobs. 5th ed. Bookhaven. Jun. 2009. 256p. ISBN 978-0-943641-27-0. $24.95. REF

This update to the 2005 fourth edition has been revised to cover new testing procedures and to anticipate the president’s call for 250,000 new employees, who will facilitate enforcement of new postal regulatory measures. Over the course of 11 chapters and three appendixes, Damp (Book of U.S. Government Jobs) offers a vital testing primer, incorporating challenging sample questions in the anticipated test format. Also included is an overview of the hiring process and a comprehensive positions list.

The Book of U.S. Government Jobs - 10th edition
LJ's "Best Sellers" list 4/2009

ISBN: 978-0-943641-26-2
LJ Bestsellers List
The books most borrowed by in U.S. Libraries - 4/1/2009

http://www.libraryjournal.com/article/CA6645867.html?industryid=47123
The Book of U.S. Government Jobs is #19 on LJ Bestsellers top 20 list, the books most borrowed in U.S. Libraries. This report was released April 1, 2009. I mention on every radio show that this title is available at most libraries. This title is on the list with "What Color is Your Parachute" and we are honored to be on this prestigious list.
The Book of U.S. Government Jobs - 10th edition review
ISBN: 978-0-943641-26-2

Library Journal reviewed and recommended this title in their November 15th 2008 issue

November 15, 2008 -- Library Journal reviewed and recommended the new 10th edition of The Book of U.S. Government Jobs. The complete review follows:

Damp, Dennis V. The Book of U.S. Government Jobs. 10th ed. Bookhaven. 2008. 338p. ISBN 978-0-943641-26-3. $22.95. REF

"An invaluable how-to guide for landing a federal position, this book is updated every two years in order to incorporate the newest procedural details. Former federal-employee hiring specialist Damp (Post Office Jobs) breaks the recruitment process into 12 essential chapters, offering an elemental introduction, application and interview advice, civil service exam samples, and, finally, “Employment Secrets.” To speed comprehension, information is often bulleted, and Damp frequently reproduces and explains entire sample resumes and job postings. With its logical arrangement and thorough explanations, this book will prove a vital resource for any federal job seeker."

Health Care Job Explosion 4th edition review
ISBN: 0-943641-25-X

Library Journal reviewed and recommended this title in their October 1, 2006 issue

October 1, 2006 -- Library Journal reviewed and highly recommended the new 4th edition of Health Care Jobs Explosion. The complete review follows:

Damp, Dennis V. Health Care Job Explosion! High Growth Health Care Careers and Job Locator. 4th ed. Bookhaven. 2006. c.320p. illus. bibliog. index. ISBN 0-943641-25-X (ISBN 978-0-943641-25-6). pap. $19.95.
 
CAREERS
 
"With the simple presentation, current facts, and career advice from those in the trenches, the fourth edition of this all-inclusive resource will motivate patrons looking for a job in the health services field. Damp (The Book of U.S. Government Jobs) cites projections from the Bureau of Labor Statistics that one out of every five new jobs created by 2014 will be in the health services field. Readers get helpful tips and guidance about the application and interview process. The third chapter presents an array of useful professional resources including books, job fairs, associations, and web sites. Damp then moves on to cover specific health services fields and the relevant jobs within each category (e.g., health technicians, pharmacy, therapy, nursing, social services, home healthcare). For each job, he covers the significant points such as working conditions, necessary training, employment outlook, and earnings. The first appendix discusses healthcare corporations as a high-growth area for possible employment; the second appendix provides scholarship and tuition information. Overall, this inexpensive resource acts as a great starting point for someone considering a field where there is an ever-increasing demand for personnel. Recommended for all public libraries."

 

Other Reviews

60 Days to a Recession Proof Federal Job; IT WORKS, February 2, 2008

"An INDISPENSIBLE guide to finding and getting a federal job. I used the information in the NEW 10th edition and was granted 5 interviews, 3 job offers and accepted a GS-12 position; then negotiated a significant PAY increase; just 2 month into my search. After arriving at my new position, I used the Federal Job career information section to obtain additional vacation time for my prior military service and to make the right decisions on my benefits. Dennis Damp hit a GRAND SLAM with this book; it is simply the BEST Federal Jobs Guide on the market today. If you are looking for a comprehensive federal jobs guide that really puts you ahead of the competition, this is the book to buy. Thank you, Mr. Damp."
                                                                        M. Shiraitori  (10th edition)

GOT THE INTERVIEW IN 30 DAYS!!!, January 7, 2008

I purchased and received this book two days before Xmas 2007. I was referred for a vacancy announcement on January 4, 2008. The purchase of this book is a no-brainer. Mr. Damp gives all the details needed to analyze the announcement and revamp your resume for the positions. Every penny spent here is worth the precious receipt of a certificate for a particular vacancy. The last thing I want to add is that I just started applying in November 2007. This book got me to the top of the list. Thanks Mr. Damp.
                                                                         M. Grant (10th edition)

 

 

 

 
Copyright © 2014. Bookhaven Press LLC. All Rights Reserved.